Welcome!

Thank you for your interest in MEILI TRANSLATIONS. I am an independent translator specialized in transposing texts from English, French and Italian into German, and from German into English. My texts are tailored to meet my clients‘ specific needs and I hand them over to experienced professional colleagues and copywriters for proofreading. For my English texts, I’ve established a partnership with a British translator in London, who makes sure my texts sound idiomatic.

As an official court translator for English and French accredited with the Supreme Court of the Cantons of Zurich, Zug and Schwyz, I interpret and translate legal texts for judicial authorities.

BIOGRAPHY


I have been working as an independent translator since 2006, supporting public and private sector clients such as Barclays Bank, the Swiss crowdfunding platform wemakeit or the courts in the Canton of Zurich, Zug and Schwyz. Until 2014, I also worked for Keystone, the Swiss Press Photo Agency, where I was responsible for translations and writing public relations texts in English.

In 2016, I obtained the university diploma in court interpreting and translation from ESIT, École Supérieure d’Interprètes et de Traducteurs, at Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris, France, after completing its advanced training course “DU Traducteur-interprète judiciaire”.

After further training in interpreting for courts and authorities at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences, I was accredited as an official translator at the Supreme Court of the Canton of Zurich in 2009.

From 1999 until 2007, I studied English Literature, History and Political Science at the University of Zurich, Switzerland, and Paris Ouest Nanterre, France, graduating with a Master’s degree.

FEES


The cost of translations, written transpositions from one language into another, depends on the subject, difficulty level and volume of the text. Fees range between CHF 4.00 and 5.00 per line of 55 characters.

The cost for verbal transpositions during personal employment, as well as for proofreading, is calculated using an hourly rate. To receive more information about this service, please contact me.

EMBERS


What’s makes the difference in a good translation?

A good translation corresponds in both style and content with the original text. It vertically integrates all meaningful layers of the text and takes into account semantics, grammar, context, and culturally codified connotations. The interplay of these factors ultimately creates an oscillating space of meaning and this finds its way into a good translation, as well.

CONTACT


Babajalscha Flurina Meili
Hönggerstrasse 27
8037 Zürich
Schweiz

info@meilitranslations.ch

00 41 78 808 85 20

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

Willkommen!

Ich freue mich, dass Sie sich für MEILI TRANSLATIONS interessieren. Als selbständige Übersetzerin übertrage ich Texte aus dem Französischen, Englischen und Italienischen ins Deutsche sowie aus dem Deutschen ins Englische. Meine gezielt auf meine Auftraggeber abgestimmten Texte gebe ich jeweils erfahrenen Berufskollegen und Textern zum Gegenlesen. Für die Übersetzungen ins Englische bin ich eine Zusammenarbeit mit einer britischen Übersetzerin in London eingegangen, welche meine Texte auf Idiomatik hin überprüft.

Ich bin zudem als offizielle Gerichtsdolmetscherin des Kantons Zürich tätig. Ich verdolmetsche und übersetze in dieser Funktion juristische Texte (Englisch und Französisch). Weiter bin ich auch bei den Justizbehörden und Kantonsgerichten der Kantone Schwyz und Zug akkreditiert.

BIOGRAFIE


Seit 2006 bin ich als selbständige Übersetzerin tätig und unterstütze Kunden aus der Privat- und Kreativwirtschaft, darunter die Barclays Bank oder die Crowdfunding-Plattform wemakeit, sowie öffentliche Einrichtungen und Behörden wie die Gerichte in den Kantonen Zürich, Zug und Schwyz. Bis 2014 war ich ausserdem bei der Pressebildagentur Keystone für Übersetzungen zuständig und habe Texte auf Englisch verfasst.

2016 habe ich mit dem Weiterbildungslehrgang „DU Traducteur-interprète judiciaire“ an der ESIT, École Supérieure d’Interprètes et de Traducteurs, in Paris das universitäre Diplom zur Gerichtsdolmetscherin und – übersetzerin erlangt.

2009 wurde ich nach einer Weiterbildung in Behörden- und Gerichtsdolmetschen an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften am Obergericht des Kantons Zürich als Gerichtsdolmetscherin zugelassen.

An der Universität Zürich und an der Université Paris Ouest Nanterre habe ich von 1999 bis 2006 englische Literatur, Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft studiert und mit dem Lizenziat abgeschlossen.

TARIFE


Die Preise für Übersetzungen, schriftliche Übertragungen von der einen in die andere Sprache, hängen von Art und Umfang des Textes ab. Sie liegen zwischen 4.00 und 5.00 CHF pro Zeile à 55 Anschläge. Preise für mündliche Übertragungen bei persönlichen Einsätzen oder für Korrekturlesen werden auf der Basis eines Stundentarifs verrechnet. Bitte rufen Sie mich an oder schreiben Sie mir, damit ich Sie genauer informieren kann.

EMBERS


Was macht eine gute Übersetzung aus?

Eine gute Übersetzung stimmt inhaltlich und formal mit dem Original überein. Sie hat einen vertikalen Charakter, weil die verschiedenen semantischen und grammatikalischen Ebenen, sowie die mit diesen in Verbindung stehenden, kontextuellen und kulturell bedingten Bezüge erfasst werden. Das Zusammenspiel dieser Faktoren, durch welches schliesslich ein beweglicher Bedeutungsraum geschaffen wird, lässt sich in einer guten Übersetzung ebenfalls wiederfinden.

KONTAKT


Babajalscha Flurina Meili
Hönggerstrasse 27
8037 Zürich
Schweiz

info@meilitranslations.ch

00 41 78 808 85 20

Ihr Name (Pflichtfeld)

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse (Pflichtfeld)

Betreff

Ihre Nachricht